Mr. and Mrs. Barney

bjork.jpg

+

scan0027wbs.jpg

A selection from Geoge W. Bush’s eavesdropping tapes: Matthew Barney and Bjork place an Ikea phone order. By Chris McCoy at McSweeney’s

– – – –

MATTHEW BARNEY: (On phone.) Matthew. Barney. Sure. It’s called the Flärke. F-L-A-R-K-E. It’s a bookshelf.

BJÖRK: (In background.) Ask if they have an aluminum igloo.

MATTHEW BARNEY: (Muffled.) I’m on hold. I’ll check when he gets back on.

BJÖRK: (Giggling.) Imagine if clouds were made of licorice!

MATTHEW BARNEY: Flärke. With an umlaut over the a. Also, my wife was curious if you sold aluminum … Yes, I can hold again.

BJÖRK: The winter makes me feel particularly blinkered.

MATTHEW BARNEY: The Flärke is in stock? Great. Another quick question. My wife is Scandinavian and she was wondering if you had any aluminum … All right, I can hold.

BJÖRK: Icelanders complete the echo with feel.

MATTHEW BARNEY: You’re kidding me. If you can’t deliver it, why do you have the option to order by phone?

BJÖRK: Pandas are sexy.

McSweeney’s
bjork

matthew barney

One Response to “Mr. and Mrs. Barney”

  1. coffee Says:

    Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice whilst you amend your site,
    how could i subscribe for a blog site? The account helped me a appropriate deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered
    bright clear idea

Leave a Reply

